Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

You are viewing an old version of this page. View the current version.

Compare with Current View Page History

« Previous Version 17 Next »

Group vs List

As defined in the Glossary, a group is a subset of recipients (typically subscribers) within a List. Recipients can belong to multiple groups (similarly to “Categories” in MS Outlook). A group can be created or deleted at any time and the contact information that it contains will not be affected.

A group will only be assigned to one List and will not be automatically assigned to other Lists.

Managing Recipient Groups

Groups can be created to section recipients based on any type of criteria: sending activity, profile demographic, filters, etc. to create more targeted messaging. The Manage Groups page's functions include: search for a group, delete a group, and or delete recipients from a group, delete both group and recipients, add a new group and rename a group. From the Modify Group Assignments tab at the top, you can even reassign or move recipients from one group to another.

Add/Create a New Group

To add a new group, go to Recipients > Manage Groups, choose the Group tab at the top, scroll down and click the New Group button in the bottom right corner. See below:

Delete or Rename a Group or Edit a recipient within a Group

To rename or delete a recipient from a group or edit recipient information within a group, go to the Recipient > Manage groups, click on the Groups tab and click on the Action Box a the right. Choose the function Delete or Rename.

As seen in the image above, you can also edit a recipient's data within a group, go to Recipient > Manage groups, click on Groups tab and click on the Action drop-down at the right. Choose Edit Recipients, and within that new page, Click the Action drop-down at the right and choose the function.* Important to note, if a subscriber is removed from one group, he still remains subscribed in other groups he's assigned to. Recipients can be assigned to multiple groups. To add a new recipient, click the Related Features at the bottom of the page and it will take you to the Import page.

 

Remove a recipient! Don't Delete!

  1. When wanting to remove a recipient from a group, go to the Edit Recipients in the Action drop-down, you will be choosing to Delete, Modify or Remove. If  you choose Delete, you are permanently erasing the recipient from the List and not just removing it from the group! Therefore, if you only want to remove a recipient  from a Group, we recommend that you select Remove.
  2. When you remove a recipient from one group, it will not be removed from the other groups it was assigned and its subscription status remains in tact (subscribed, unsubscribed, pending.)

Reassign recipients from one group to another

To move individual or numerous recipients from one group to another, go to Recipient > Manage groups, click on Modify Group assignments. You then click View groups and choose the group you want to assign the recipient to.

 

A list of recipients from that group will come up:

Then, do a Global search for the individual recipient you want to add to the group (search can be done by name, email or mobile.) Click on the Global Search icon at the upper right of the page.

 

Select the recipient and then click the green Add button:

 The recipient will be moved to the group located right above.

To remove a recipient, select the recipient and click the green Remove button.

Move or Remove multiple Recipients

Each recipient can only be added or removed from a group individually. Therefore if there is a large number of recipients to reassign, we recommend you import a separate file of recipients and assign the group upon import.

 

 

 

Reassigning recipients from one group to another

In order to reassign some or all recipients from one group to another, go to Email recipients and follow the directions for Move or Copy recipients from one group to another.

  • No labels